October 30th, 2020

anatomical beat

answering some "me" questions

[personal profile] uselesstinrelic  introduced herself with this great list and encouraged others to do the same!

What’s on your bucket list?

Becoming a grandparent! Seeing more of the world. Buy an RV and traveling, bucket list would be drive to Alaska. Own a home on the ocean. I would love to open a wool felt shop and teach classes on doll making, felting, felt crafts, rag quilting, penny quilting and living a more natural life.

If you win 5mil dollars tomorrow, how would you like to spend the rest of your life?

I would purchase an oceanfront home and live off the other 4 million for the rest of my life.

What person has given you the best advice about your life?

I had a Jungian guide in my 30s who I “traveled” with while making art dolls. Her wisdom was infinite. She opened endless doors for me and as a voracious reader I have thousands of people now who have given me the best advice, all in their writings.

If you could choose a superpower, what would it be?

Flying.

What happens when your alarm goes off?

I don’t use an alarm, get up when I tell myself to and then get to work. We work from home.

How do you define success?

Feeling content with your lot and feeling good about what you bring to the table. Also, being able to finish out your life with dignity by having arranged things financially.

If you could know the absolute truth to one question, what would it be?

I don’t believe in absolutes.

What’s your decision-making style?

I’m a passionate list maker. Pros/Cons and contemplation. Asking for advice from others who’ve dealt with similar or even others enough outside of the decision to get more clarity. I take a ton of advice.

What do you believe to be true about the world?

That life is short.

What color palette do you like most?

For me? Black and blues. For my home? Warm deep reds and greens and golds and black.

Do you have family?

Yes. Family, I now realize, has been the defining center of my life. For a long time, I wanted it to be friends, but for reasons far too complicated to go into here, family has been the more solid center. I grew up a military brat, moved every three years and continued that terrible lifestyle into adulthood. No roots other than a passionate connection to our Irish heritage. I have three sisters, one estranged. I have two grown children. My father died three years ago and ripped a hole in our universe with his leaving. I care for my mother now along with my youngest sister, who also is local. My husband is not close to his family except for his mother and we spend a good amount of time with her.

What do you like to do with friends?

As a couple we like to party, play games, camp, go four wheeling, go to bars and restaurants and live music. We like to snow ski, fish and swim. As a woman I like to craft, visit museums, antique shop, host book clubs, sit around drinking and talking. And for decades we had a monthly circle.

What's your dream job?

Working with veteran amputees.

At what job would you be terrible?

I don’t work well in subordinate positions. LOL. I’m not joking.

What's something you say you'll do, but never will?

Take a cruise.

How would you describe your style?

Pointy pointy shoes and boots, jeans, sweaters, braids and silver. And tattoos.

What are your hobbies?

Seeing new things! Knitting, crafting, baking. Reading. Writing, but I haven’t gotten to the point yet where I want to call that a “hobby.”

Back over at Dreamwidth! Survivor Idol is a thing! And it's at Dreamwidth!